Underage Drunk Driving in California

While the BAC limits for adult drivers in California is .08%, underage drivers face much stricter rules. California is a zero-tolerance state, which means any amount of alcohol in an underage driver's blood could result in serious legal penalties and consequences. By law, any driver under the age of 21 can be charged with DUI if their BAC measures .01% or higher.

Additionally, a minor can face other charges related to alcohol and driving. They could be accused of distributing alcohol to other minors, simply being in possession of alcohol, and soliciting alcohol. Insurance rates will also likely go up. In some cases, an insurance company may decide to terminate a policy with a minor convicted of DUI.

What types of penalties is an underage driver facing?

While the consequences for underage DUI are focused on helping young drivers get on the right path, there are still tough penalties involved.

For example, a minor driver could face the following types of penalties for DUI:

  • Mandatory 1 year license suspension
  • Fines of $100 or more
  • 3 to 5 years of DUI probation
  • Possible jail time

If an underage driver refuses to take a breath or blood test, they will likely have their license automatically suspended for an extensive amount of time. The best step to take after being accused of DUI as a minor is to hire an experienced DUI attorney who can help fight your charges.

Need a legal advocate on your side? Call our Bakersfield DUI defense lawyer at The Law Offices of Joe W. Whittington today.